The November Criminals: A novel (Paperback)

$15.00
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


A dark and hilarious pot-infused novel of teenage maladjustment from a compelling new voice in American fiction.
 
For a high school senior Addison Schacht has a lot of preoccupations, like selling drugs to his classmates, getting into college, and his complicated relationship with his best friend (NOT his girlfriend) Digger. And he's just added another to the list: the murder of his classmate Kevin Broadus, and his own obsessive plan to investigate the death. When presented with an essay question on his application to the University of Chicago--What are your best and worst qualities?--Addison finds himself provoked into giving his final, unapologetic say about all of the above and more, and the thrilling result is an unforgettable trip through the Washington, D.C. teenage underworld.

About the Author


Sam Munson’s writing has appeared in the New York Times and the Times Literary Supplement, among numerous other venues. He lives in New York City.

Praise for The November Criminals: A novel…


“A clever debut.”—The Daily Beast
 
“Munson keeps things lightly dark.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“A compelling character. . . . In the tradition of Huck and Holden.”—Bookforum
 
“Rather hilarious. . . . Irresistible.”—Booklist
 
“Combines a classic sense of adolescent alienation and a keen comedic voice.”—Kirkus

"Has the inventive, expansive flare of Michael Chabon's best writing and the highbrow-crime intrigue of a Donna Tartt book."—Vanity Fair
 
Sam Munson has written one of the funniest, most heartfelt novels in recent memory—a book every bit as worthy of Mark Twain and J. D. Salinger.“—Chicago Tribune
 
“A thoughtful coming-of-age story and an engaging teenage noir. . . . [Sam Munson is an] audacious new writer.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“Munson is a freewheeling stylist. . . . [Addison] Schacht really is Holden [Caulfield]’s amoral 21st-century cousin.”—The Washington Post

Product Details ISBN-10: 0307474828
ISBN-13: 9780307474827
Published: Anchor, 04/05/2011
Pages: 272
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs