The Fire (Paperback)

$15.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Indie Next List

November 2008
After reading Katherine Neville's novel The Eight years ago, I had high expectations for this sequel. The Fire delivered more than I could have hoped -- history, intrigue, chess moves, fascinating characters, and an engrossing plot. A great read that I can't wait to recommend. -- Susan Sinclair, Newtown Bookshop, Newtown, PA

Description


2003, Colorado: Alexandra Solarin is summoned home to her family’s ancestral Rocky Mountain hideaway for her mother’s birthday. Thirty years ago, her parents, Cat Velis and Alexander Solarin, believed that they had scattered the pieces of the Montglane Service around the world, burying with the chessmen the secrets of the power that comes with possessing them. But Alexandra arrives to find that her mother is missing–and that the Game has begun again.

1822, Albania: Haidee, the young daughter of a powerful Ottoman ruler, embarks on a dangerous mission to smuggle a valuable relic out of Albania and deliver it into the hands of the one man who might be able to save it. Haidee’s journey brings forth chilling revelations that burn through history to the present day.

About the Author


Katherine Neville is the author of The Eight, The Magic Circle (a USA Today bestseller), and A Calculated Risk (a New York Times Notable Book). The Eight has been translated into more than thirty languages. In a national poll in Spain by the noted journal El País, The Eight was voted one of the top ten books of all time. Neville lives in Virginia and Washington, D.C.

Praise for The Fire…


“[An] exotic, labyrinthine conspiracy tale . . . the perfect escapist adventure.”—Washington Post

The Fire expertly blends history, science, and myth. Katherine Neville is the undisputed queen of the international suspense genre.”—Steve Berry, author of The Charlemagne Pursuit

“For fans of The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four, Neville’s historical detective story . . . packs an epic wallop.”—People StyleWatch

The Fire impresses as much for its literary aspects as it does for its action, puzzles and suspense. . . . This is a book to be savored as it’s read, and admired for the beauty of its accomplishment.”—Chicago Sun-Times

Product Details ISBN-10: 0345500687
ISBN-13: 9780345500687
Published: Ballantine Books, 08/25/2009
Pages: 464
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs