The Lady of Secrets (Paperback)

$15.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.
 
Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe—successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as “daughters of the earth”—it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding—and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide.
 
Meg’s task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg’s extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king’s world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything—not even her own heart.
 
Praise for Susan Carroll’s Twilight of a Queen
 
“[Susan] Carroll’s vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll’s hallmarks.”—RT Book Reviews
 
“Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail.”—Night Owl Reviews

About the Author


Susan Carroll is an award-winning romance author whose books include The Bride Finder and its two sequels The Night Drifter and Midnight Bride as well as The Painted Veil, Winterbourne, and most recently, The Dark Queen, The Courtesan, The Silver Rose, The Huntress, and Twilight of a Queen. She lives in Rock Island, Illinois.

Product Details ISBN-10: 0345502957
ISBN-13: 9780345502957
Published: Ballantine Books, 12/11/2012
Pages: 448
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs