Moon Women (Paperback)

$14.70
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


In the lush North Carolina foothills, the Moon women have put down roots: matriarch Marvelle Moon, who’s losing her grip on the world after more than eighty years of life; her daughters, Ruth Ann and Cassandra; and Ruth Ann’s nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab, unmarried, and three months pregnant. Despite Ruth Ann’s best efforts to live a life that’s all her own, her family is coming together around her. Marvelle and Ashley need a place to live and Ruth Ann is unable to turn them away; and her womanizing ex-husband has been coming around again, dredging up the past. Now a flurry of outbursts, emotions, and outrages is shattering Ruth Ann’s separate peace.

For here is Ashley, who has spent nineteen years running furiously away from home, now finding herself on a strange journey with her unraveling grandmother. And here is Cassandra, protected by layers of obesity and loneliness, wondering how to put magic back in her life. And Marvelle, slowly losing touch with reality, privately contemplating the story of her life and the secret that would change everything for everyone—if they only knew.... By turns fierce and tender, harrowing and heartbreaking, Moon Women resonates with emotional power, holding us captive under its beguiling spell.

About the Author


Pamela Duncan was born in Asheville in 1961 and raised in Black Mountain, Swannanoa, and Shelby, North Carolina. She holds a B.A. in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an M.A. in English and creative writing from North Carolina Sate University in Raleigh. She lives in Graham, North Carolina.

Praise for Moon Women…


“In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes [this] Southern-fried debut....Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart, quirky storyteller.” —Publishers Weekly

“Genuinely poignant...alternately funny and touching and sad.” —Raleigh News and Observer (N.C.)

Product Details ISBN-10: 0385335210
ISBN-13: 9780385335218
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback, 04/30/2002
Pages: 336
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs