Moon Women (Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


In the lush North Carolina foothills, the Moon women have put down roots: matriarch Marvelle Moon, who’s starting to lose her grip on the world after more than eighty years of life; her daughters, Ruth Ann and Cassandra; and Ruth Ann’s nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab, unmarried, and three months pregnant.

Despite Ruth Ann’s best efforts to live a life that’s all her own, her family is coming together around her. First there’s her womanizing ex-husband, who has been hovering again, dredging up the past. And then there’s Ashley, who has spent nineteen years running furiously away from home, now finding herself on a strange journey with her unraveling grandmother. And Marvelle, slowly losing touch with reality, privately contemplating the story of her life and the secret that would change everything for everyone—if they only knew….

About the Author


Pamela Duncan was born in Asheville in 1961 and raised in Black Mountain, Swannanoa, and Shelby, North Carolina. She holds a B.A. in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an M.A. in English and creative writing from North Carolina Sate University in Raleigh. She lives in Graham, North Carolina.

Praise for Moon Women…


Moon Women contemplates what it means to be a mother, a daughter, a wife, a sister. Beyond even those themes, it's wonderful to read a writer who captures the setting and personality of North Carolina so honestly, passionately, and triumphantly.”
Creative Loafing

“In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes a Southern-fried debut.... Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart quirky storyteller.”
-- Publishers Weekly

“Impressive ... The Moon women, old and young, are great ones for musing, and Duncan deftly handles multiple points of view as they present their hardships and joys in richly textured reminiscences.... Leisurely pace and authentic southern voice: a pleasure to be savored, by a writer to watch.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Reading Moon Women is like falling into a feather bed — you’ll want to snuggle in, settle down, and stay right there until you have turned the last wonderful page.”
— Lee Smith, author of Fair and Tender Ladies

“Irresistible. Once these Moon women start talking, you can’t stop turning the pages of this extraordinary, beautifully crafted novel.”
— Angela Davis-Gardner, author of Forms of Shelter and Felice

Product Details ISBN-10: 0440236487
ISBN-13: 9780440236481
Published: Dell, 08/26/2008
Pages: 512
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs