The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

$34.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating—and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan—a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

About the Author


When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband. 

Praise for The Penderwicks on Gardam Street…


Starred Review, School Library Journal, March 2008:

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold."

Starred Review, Booklist, May 1, 2008:

"Just the sort of cozy fare that's missing in today's mean-girl world."

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, April 28, 2008:

“It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field.”
Review, San Francisco Chronicle, April 27, 2008:
"Birdsall writes with amazing grace."
Review, Parade, June 22, 2008:
"[A]n old-fashioned (in a good way) read with well-drawn characters, warmth, and humor."
Review, The New York Times Book Review, July 13, 2008:
"Birdsall's second novel . . . offers comforting comedy."

Product Details ISBN-10: 0739364995
ISBN-13: 9780739364994
Published: Listening Library (Audio), 04/22/2008
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 8
Maximum Age: 12
Minimum Grade Level: 3rd Grade
Maximum Grade Level: 7th Grade


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs