If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Fiction (Paperback)

$15.00
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD

NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves. 

Look for special features inside.
Join the Circle for author chats and more.
RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

About the Author


Robin Black’s stories and essays have appeared in numerous publications, including One Story, Colorado Review, The Georgia Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, Bellevue Literary Review, The Southern Review, and the anthology The Best Creative Nonfiction. The winner of many awards and a recipient of fellowships from the Leeway Foundation and the MacDowell Colony, Black is a graduate of the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. She lives with her family in Philadelphia.

Praise for If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Fiction…


“Incisive.”—People
 
“Powerful.”—San Francisco Chronicle
 
“Pitch-perfect.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 

“Sparkling.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“Original and surprising.”—Chicago Tribune

“So deft, so understated, and so compelling . . . Fans of Mary Gaitskill, Amy Bloom, and Miranda July will feel like they’ve found gold in a river when they discover Robin Black.” —O: The Oprah Magazine

“Each story reads like a mini-novel. . . . Worlds are contained in a single page. And the writing . . . oh, the writing.”—San Francisco Chronicle

“Characters so fully imagined you’ll feel they’re in the room.”—People
 
“Powerful and touching . . . sparkling with poetic vision.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“Exquisitely distilled tales of loss and reckoning.”—Vogue

Product Details ISBN-10: 0812980689
ISBN-13: 9780812980684
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks, 04/26/2011
Pages: 336
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs