Revolver (Hardcover)

$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


A LOADED GUN. STOLEN GOLD. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.
In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig’s father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig’s only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin’s storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why? Revolver is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

About the Author


MARCUS SEDGWICK is the author of ten previous novels for young readers and has been short-listed for numerous children’s book awards, including the Carnegie Medal, The Guardian Prize, and the Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Sussex, England.

Praise for Revolver…


A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.”—The Horn Book, STARRED

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig’s difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, STARRED

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.”Booklist

 

Product Details ISBN-10: 1596435925
ISBN-13: 9781596435926
Published: Roaring Brook Press, 04/13/2010
Pages: 224
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 12
Maximum Age: UP
Minimum Grade Level: 7th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: Up


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs