Peter May - The Lewis Man & The Blackhouse

The Isle of Lewis, the setting of The Blackhouse ($14.99), is the most remote, ruggedly beautiful place in Scotland, where god-fearing villagers struggle to survive in an inhospitable landscape. But older, pagan values run deep, yearning for blood and revenge. When a brutal murder on the island reveals a possible connection to a similar slaying in Edinburgh, police detective Fin Macleod is dispatched north to investigate. But since he himself was raised on Lewis, the investigation also represents a journey home and into his past. Each year the men and boys on the island perform a ritual hunting of the guga bird; a savage custom no longer necessary for survival, but to which they cling even more fiercely as the modern world finally makes its way into their isolated town. For Fin, the hunt recalls a horrific tragedy, a power that after all this time may demand another sacrifice.
In The Lewis Man ($26.99), the second book of the trilogy, Fin Macleod has returned to the Isle of Lewis, the storm-tossed, wind-scoured outer Hebridean island where he was born and raised. Having left behind his adult life in Edinburgh-including his wife and his career in the police force-the former Detective Inspector is intent on repairing past relationships and restoring his parents' derelict cottage. His plans are interrupted when an unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog. The only clue to its identity is a DNA match to a local farmer, the now-senile Tormod Macdonald-the father of Fin's childhood sweetheart, Marsaili-a man who has claimed throughout his life to be an only child, practically an orphan. Reluctantly drawn into the investigation, Fin uncovers deep family secrets even as he draws closer to the killer who wishes to keep them hidden. 

An award-winning journalist at twenty-one in his native Scotland, Peter May left newspapers for television and screenwriting, creating three prime-time British drama series, and accruing more than 1000 television credits before moving to France to concentrate on writing novels. He is the author of fifteen novels, including two series: The Enzo Files and The China Thillers. May won, among other prizes, the Barry Award (2013), the Macavity Award (2013), French Prix Intramuros (2007) for Cadavres Chinois à Houston (Snakehead) and is the only Westerner to become an honorary member of the Chinese Crime Writers' Association.
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera
Postal Code:
United States
ISBN-13: 9781623659998
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quercus, 8/2014

The Lewis Man (Hardcover)

ISBN-13: 9781623658199
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quercus, 9/2014

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Order a Signed Copy Today!

Can't make it to an event? Want a signed copy?

Order a signed book by adding it to your  cart and noting "Signed Copy" in the comments field at checkout. Signed copies available at no extra charge while supplies last.

Questions?  Email
or call (415) 927-0960