California Writers Club: Tanya Egan Gibson - "“Dynamic Dialogue"

10/26/2014 4:00 pm

“Dynamic Dialogue:  How to Bring Your Characters to Life (And Save Them From Sounding Like Boring Zombies With Whom No Reader Wants to Be Trapped in an Elevator, Bar, Party, Short Story, Novel, or Memoir—Ever)"

Asked to name her favorite book, sixteen-year-old Carley Wells answers, "Never met one I liked." Her parents are horrified and decide to commission a book to be written just for her. They will be the Medicis of Long Island and buy their daughter The Love of Reading. At first, Carley's sole interest in the project is to distract Hunter, the young bibliophile she adores. But as Hunter's behavior becomes increasingly erratic, Carley begins to understand the importance of stories-and how they are powerful enough to destroy a person. Or save her.

Tanya Egan Gibson's debut novel is an irresistible work of metafiction that dazzlingly embeds a book within the book, and boasts an unforgettably fresh narrator whose journey towards embracing literature will make you fall in love with reading all over again.

Tanya Egan Gibson lives in Marin County, California. How to Buy a Love of Reading is her first novel.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780452296091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Plume, 7/2010

Joe Clifford - Lamentation

In a frigid New Hampshire winter, Jay Porter is trying to eke out a living and maintain some semblance of a relationship with his former girlfriend and their two-year-old son. When he receives an urgent call that Chris, his drug-addicted and chronically drunk brother, is being questioned by the sheriff about his missing junkie business partner, Jay feels obliged to come to his rescue. After Jay negotiates his brother's release from the county jail, Chris disappears into the night. As Jay begins to search for him, he is plunged into a cauldron of ugly lies and long-kept secrets that could tear apart his small hometown and threaten the lives of Jay and all those he holds dear. In the incredibly supsenseful Lamentation, powerful forces come into play that will stop at nothing until Chris is dead and the information he harbors is destroyed.

Joe Clifford acts as acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and managing editor of The Flash Fiction Offensive. He also produces Lip Service West, a "gritty, real, raw" reading series in Oakland, CA. Joe is the author of three books: Choice Cuts, Wake the Undertaker, and Junkie Love. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Lamentation (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781608091331
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Oceanview Publishing, 10/2014

Terry Shames - Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek

In Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek, the town is bankrupt. Gary Dellmore, heir apparent to the main bank, is dead, apparently murdered. Samuel Craddock thought he was retired but now he's been asked to return as police chief. Dellmore supposedly had a roving eye, although his wife says he was never serious about dallying. Still, Craddock wonders: Did the husbands and fathers of women he flirted with think he was harmless? What about his current lover, who insists that Dellmore was going to leave his wife for her?

Craddock discovers that Dellmore had a record of bad business investments. Even worse, he took a kickback from a loan he procured, which ultimately drove the town into bankruptcy. Many people had motive to want Dellmore dead.

Then the investigation turns up another crime. As Craddock digs down to the root of this mess, many in Jarrett Creek are left wondering what happened to the innocence of their close-knit community.

Terry Shames is the author of A Killing at Cotton Hill and The Last Death of Jack Harbin, the first two Samuel Craddock mysteries. She is the coeditor of Fire in the Hills, a book of stories, poems, and photographs about the 1991 Oakland Hills Fire. She grew up in Texas and continues to be fascinated by the convoluted loyalties and betrayals of the small town where her grandfather was the mayor.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781616149963
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Seventh Street Books, 10/2014

Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014

Charles Phan - The Slanted Door

In conversation with KQED's Thuy Vu
Ticket: $45 (includes book and food samples)

 

 

The long-awaited cookbook from The Slanted Door, James Beard award-winning chef Charles Phan’s beloved San Francisco Vietnamese restaurant.

Charles Phan opened The Slanted Door in San Francisco’s Mission District in 1995, inspired by the food of his native Vietnam. Since then, The Slanted Door has moved across town to the historic Ferry Building and has grown into a world-class dining destination. Its accessible, modern take on classic Vietnamese dishes is adored by diners, chefs, and critics alike. The Slanted Door is a love letter to the restaurant, its people, and its food, featuring stories and essays along with its most iconic recipes such as Seared Scallops with Vietnamese Beurre Blanc, Wok-Seared Eggplant with Satay Sauce, and Rack of Lamb with Tamarind Sauce. In addition to recipes, the book will include an extensive cocktail section, and essays on its esteemed wine program.

Charles Phan is the executive chef and owner of The Slanted Door family of restaurants. He received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2004, and in 2011 was inducted into the James Beard Foundation’s list of Who’s Who of Food in America.

Thuy Vu is a four-time Emmy award winning journalist, anchor and program host who’s covered everything from presidential debates to culinary creations.  She currently hosts KQED Newsroom, an innovative multi-platform news analysis and interview program that digs deeper, taking audiences beyond the headlines and quick soundbites.  The program is available on KQED television, radio and online.  

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9781607740544
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Ten Speed Press, 10/2014

Cooks with Books: Dorie Greenspan - Baking Chez Moi

Left Bank, Larkspur • Single $115; Couple $180 (one book)
 
 
 
 
 
In Baking Chez Moi, Dorie Greenspan focuses on pastries that are inspired by French tradition and by her travels around the country. The recipes include cakes (most simple, she claims), petit pastries, tarts and galettes, cookies, fruit desserts, creams, custards, puddings, and chocolate. She is the award winning author of Around my French Table.
 
The ticket includes the meal, wine, tax, tip, and a signed copy of the book. 
 
 
 
 
Location: 
Street:
507 Magnolia Ave
City:
Larkspur
,
Postal Code:
94939
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780547724249
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 10/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs