Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

This event will take place during the children's book group, MB14. Everyone is welcome!
To join MB14, our age 14 and up children's book group, or for more information, please contact Brittany at bwason@bookpassage.com or Melissa at mburke@bookpassage.com.

 
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give you the Sun, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her debut novel, The Sky Is Everywhere, was on multiple Best Books of the Year lists, was a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, earned numerous starred reviews, has been translated widely, and continues to enjoy great international success. Jandy has a BA from Cornell, an MFA in poetry from Brown, and another MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, Jandy lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings of The Sky Is Everywhere and I’ll Give You the Sun
 
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780803734968
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dial, 9/2014

Cooks with Books: Yotam Ottolenghi - Plenty More

Insalata’s, San Anselmo • Single $120, Couple $180 (one book)

This event is now SOLD OUT. For wait list availability, please call (415) 927-0960 ext. 1.

Yotam Ottolenghi’s monumentally successful cookbook, Plenty, changed the way people cook and eat vegetables. Plenty More continues in the spirit of Plenty, with 120 dazzling produce-focused dishes, prepared raw, grilled, baked, simmered, cracked, or braised. Ottolenghi includes main dishes, sides, salads, and sweets, all gorgeously featured in this color photo cookbook. Known for his creative spirit, intriguing flavors and playful spices, these fresh ingredients offer home chefs’ outstanding meals for the whole family. Ottolenghi is the author of bestselling cookbooks Jerusalem, Plenty, and Ottolenghi. He writes for the Guardian and appears on the BBC.

The ticket includes the meal, wine, tax, tip, and a signed copy of the book. 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
Insalata's
Additional:
120 Sir Francis Drake Blvd.
City:
San Anselmo
,
Postal Code:
94960
$35.00
ISBN-13: 9781607746218
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Ten Speed Press, 10/2014

California Writers Club: Tanya Egan Gibson - "“Dynamic Dialogue"

10/26/2014 4:00 pm

“Dynamic Dialogue:  How to Bring Your Characters to Life (And Save Them From Sounding Like Boring Zombies With Whom No Reader Wants to Be Trapped in an Elevator, Bar, Party, Short Story, Novel, or Memoir—Ever)"

Asked to name her favorite book, sixteen-year-old Carley Wells answers, "Never met one I liked." Her parents are horrified and decide to commission a book to be written just for her. They will be the Medicis of Long Island and buy their daughter The Love of Reading. At first, Carley's sole interest in the project is to distract Hunter, the young bibliophile she adores. But as Hunter's behavior becomes increasingly erratic, Carley begins to understand the importance of stories-and how they are powerful enough to destroy a person. Or save her.

Tanya Egan Gibson's debut novel is an irresistible work of metafiction that dazzlingly embeds a book within the book, and boasts an unforgettably fresh narrator whose journey towards embracing literature will make you fall in love with reading all over again.

Tanya Egan Gibson lives in Marin County, California. How to Buy a Love of Reading is her first novel.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780452296091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Plume, 7/2010

Joe Clifford - Lamentation

In a frigid New Hampshire winter, Jay Porter is trying to eke out a living and maintain some semblance of a relationship with his former girlfriend and their two-year-old son. When he receives an urgent call that Chris, his drug-addicted and chronically drunk brother, is being questioned by the sheriff about his missing junkie business partner, Jay feels obliged to come to his rescue. After Jay negotiates his brother's release from the county jail, Chris disappears into the night. As Jay begins to search for him, he is plunged into a cauldron of ugly lies and long-kept secrets that could tear apart his small hometown and threaten the lives of Jay and all those he holds dear. In the incredibly supsenseful Lamentation, powerful forces come into play that will stop at nothing until Chris is dead and the information he harbors is destroyed.

Joe Clifford acts as acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and managing editor of The Flash Fiction Offensive. He also produces Lip Service West, a "gritty, real, raw" reading series in Oakland, CA. Joe is the author of three books: Choice Cuts, Wake the Undertaker, and Junkie Love. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Lamentation (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781608091331
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Oceanview Publishing, 10/2014

Terry Shames - Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek

In Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek, the town is bankrupt. Gary Dellmore, heir apparent to the main bank, is dead, apparently murdered. Samuel Craddock thought he was retired but now he's been asked to return as police chief. Dellmore supposedly had a roving eye, although his wife says he was never serious about dallying. Still, Craddock wonders: Did the husbands and fathers of women he flirted with think he was harmless? What about his current lover, who insists that Dellmore was going to leave his wife for her?

Craddock discovers that Dellmore had a record of bad business investments. Even worse, he took a kickback from a loan he procured, which ultimately drove the town into bankruptcy. Many people had motive to want Dellmore dead.

Then the investigation turns up another crime. As Craddock digs down to the root of this mess, many in Jarrett Creek are left wondering what happened to the innocence of their close-knit community.

Terry Shames is the author of A Killing at Cotton Hill and The Last Death of Jack Harbin, the first two Samuel Craddock mysteries. She is the coeditor of Fire in the Hills, a book of stories, poems, and photographs about the 1991 Oakland Hills Fire. She grew up in Texas and continues to be fascinated by the convoluted loyalties and betrayals of the small town where her grandfather was the mayor.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781616149963
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Seventh Street Books, 10/2014

Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs