Cooks with Books: Yotam Ottolenghi - Plenty More

Insalata’s, San Anselmo • Single $120, Couple $180 (one book)

 

 

Yotam Ottolenghi’s monumentally successful cookbook, Plenty, changed the way people cook and eat vegetables. Plenty More continues in the spirit of Plenty, with 120 dazzling produce-focused dishes, prepared raw, grilled, baked, simmered, cracked, or braised. Ottolenghi includes main dishes, sides, salads, and sweets, all gorgeously featured in this color photo cookbook. Known for his creative spirit, intriguing flavors and playful spices, these fresh ingredients offer home chefs’ outstanding meals for the whole family. Ottolenghi is the author of bestselling cookbooks Jerusalem, Plenty, and Ottolenghi. He writes for the Guardian and appears on the BBC.

 

Location: 
Street:
Insalata's
Additional:
120 Sir Francis Drake Blvd.
City:
San Anselmo
,
Postal Code:
94960
$35.00
ISBN-13: 9781607746218
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ten Speed Press, 10/2014

Joe Clifford - Lamentation

In a frigid New Hampshire winter, Jay Porter is trying to eke out a living and maintain some semblance of a relationship with his former girlfriend and their two-year-old son. When he receives an urgent call that Chris, his drug-addicted and chronically drunk brother, is being questioned by the sheriff about his missing junkie business partner, Jay feels obliged to come to his rescue. After Jay negotiates his brother's release from the county jail, Chris disappears into the night. As Jay begins to search for him, he is plunged into a cauldron of ugly lies and long-kept secrets that could tear apart his small hometown and threaten the lives of Jay and all those he holds dear. In the incredibly supsenseful Lamentation, powerful forces come into play that will stop at nothing until Chris is dead and the information he harbors is destroyed.

Joe Clifford acts as acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and managing editor of The Flash Fiction Offensive. He also produces Lip Service West, a "gritty, real, raw" reading series in Oakland, CA. Joe is the author of three books: Choice Cuts, Wake the Undertaker, and Junkie Love. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Lamentation (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781608091331
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing, 10/2014

Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014

Cooks with Books: Dorie Greenspan - Baking Chez Moi

Left Bank, Larkspur • Single $115; Couple $180 (one book)
 
 
 
 
 
In Baking Chez Moi, Dorie Greenspan focuses on pastries that are inspired by French tradition and by her travels around the country. The recipes include cakes (most simple, she claims), petit pastries, tarts and galettes, cookies, fruit desserts, creams, custards, puddings, and chocolate. She is the award winning author of Around my French Table.

Location: 
Street:
507 Magnolia Ave
City:
Larkspur
,
Postal Code:
94939
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780547724249
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 10/2014

William Gibson - The Peripheral

North American master of letters William Gibson returns with his first novel in four years, The Peripheral, a high-tech thriller partly set in a decadent post-apocalyptic future. The “peripherals” of the title are quasi-human drone bodies, with full tactile feedback, operated from any distance, which have erased any lingering distinction between the Web and the world. Where Flynne and her brother Burton live, jobs outside the drug business are rare. Fortunately, Burton has his veteran’s benefits, for neural damage he suffered during his time in the USMC’s elite Haptic Recon force. Then one night Burton has to go out, but there’s a job he’s supposed to do—a job Flynne didn’t know he had. Beta-testing part of a new game, he tells her. The job seems to be simple: work a perimeter around the image of a tower building. Little buglike things turn up. He’s supposed to get in their way, edge them back. That’s all there is to it. He’s offering Flynne a good price to take over for him. What she sees, though, isn’t what Burton told her to expect. It might be a game, but it might also be murder.

William Gibson is the celebrated author of Neuromancer, Count Zero, Mona Lisa Overdrive, Burning Chrome, Virtual Light, Idoru, All Tomorrow’s Parties, Pattern Recognition, Spook Country, Zero History, and Distrust That Particular Flavor. Gibson is not only revered for his illustrious career as a fiction writer, but also as a non-fiction writer, famous for his acclaimed feature "Disneyland with the Death Penalty" and as a cultural figure, notable for coining the term "cyberspace."

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

The Peripheral (Hardcover)

$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780399158445
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Putnam Adult, 10/2014

Peg Conley - Imagine the Life You'd Love to Live, Then Live It

Peg Conley has been an artist all her life, but, like many of us, took a long detour into the working world -- in her case, corporate sales, where she found a lot of success and was able to raise a happy family. Art became the thing she did on vacations, weekends, and when she could carve time out of her busy life. Something gnawed at her, a nagging feeling that life might hold something else for her in the midst of it all. Then came the big "aha" moment. Peg heard a small voice inside: "Imagine the life you want to live, then live it. It's that simple " Her family encouraged Peg to pursue her passion. Despite a great deal of fear, Peg dropped her big job, big house, and big life and moved to San Francisco to start a business based on her artisan stationery. From a handful of hand-painted cards, calendars, and posters, her company Words and Watercolors was born and has been inspiring people, winning awards, and raking in the sales ever since. Peg's intention with Imagine the Life You'd Love to Live, Then Live It: 52 Inspired Habits and Playful Prompts  is to inspire and her art and writing all speak to life's great truths and those aha moments.

Peg Conley loves to paint the beauty of the natural world to delight and inspire others. She creates greeting cards (more than 175 designs to date) and other gifts including boxed notes, memo list pads and wrapping paper. She lives in San Francisco. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$16.95
ISBN-13: 9781936740871
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viva Editions, 11/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs