Kim Bancroft - The Heyday of Malcolm Margolin

In conversation with Malcolm Margolin

In an age of big box stores and media conglomerates, how can an independent publishing house survive—and even thrive? Kim Bancroft's The Heyday of Malcolm Margolin takes us into Heyday, a small press that for forty years has spotlighted California’s best stories. Drawing from the words of founder Malcolm Margolin, this compelling portrait recounts the making of Heyday, from its roots in the do-it-yourself/change-the-world clime of 1970s Berkeley to its present-day status as the “cultural linchpin for the state” (Northern California Book Booksellers Association). A chorus of friends, including Maxine Hong Kingston, Robert Hass, and Kevin Starr, enriches our understanding of a vibrant literary community and its one-of-a-kind leader. Funny and provocative, The Heyday of Malcolm Margolin reveals the workings of a courageously unconventional enterprise run on beauty, passion, friendship, and joy.

Kim Bancroft is a longtime teacher turned editor and writer. She has taught at various high schools and community colleges in the Bay Area, at the Universidad de Guanajuato in Mexico, and at Sacramento State. Kim has edited several books, including Ariel: A Memoir by Ariel Parkinson; The Morning the Sun Went Down by Darryl Wilson; and Ruth’s Journey: A Survivor’s Memoir, by Ruth Glasberg Gold.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$20.00
ISBN-13: 9781597142878
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Heyday Books, 9/2014

Paul Williams & Tracey Jackson - Gratitude & Trust

Gratitude & Trust ($27.95) is a book designed to apply the principles of the recovery movement to those countless people who are not addicts but nevertheless need effective help with their difficulties and pain. Paul Williams, an award-winning songwriter, actor, and performer, has embraced a traditional alcoholism recovery plan for more than two decades of sobriety. Tracey Jackson, a well-known TV and film writer – and veteran of many years of traditional therapy—has never been a drunk nor a drug abuser, but realized that many of the tenets of Williams’ program could apply to her.  In Gratitude & Trust, Williams and Jackson ask: What happens to those who struggle with vexing problems but are not full-blown addicts? Are there any lessons to be learned from the foundational and time-tested principles of the recovery movement?

Whether you’re tethered to your phone or turn to food for comfort; whether you’re a perfectionist and can’t let things go or are too afraid to fail to even try; whether you can find intimacy only on the Internet or you’ve been involved in a string of nasty relationships—the first step toward feeling better about yourself and your life is the realization that you are what’s standing in your way. Williams and Jackson have designed a new, positive program, based on a half dozen new affirmations, that can help conquer your vices, address personal dysfunctions and start to brighten the darkest moods. Gratitude & Trust is an essential, inspirational, and uplifting guide to identifying and changing maladaptive behaviors in order to uncover your most productive and healthiest self.
 
Paul Williams is an Oscar, Grammy, and Golden Globe winning Hall of Fame songwriter and President of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). He is a major public force in the recovery movement, a graduate of UCLA's Drug and Alcohol Counseling Certification Program and has served as a member of the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Board of Directors. He was a founding board member and counselor for the Musicians Assistance Program (MAP), now the treatment wing of MusiCares. He has been a passionate public advocate for the recovery movement for the past twenty-four years.

Tracey Jackson wrote the films Confessions of a Shopaholic, The Guru, and The Other End of the Line among others. She has also written twelve TV pilots, and created the series BABES for Fox TV. Tracey wrote, directed, and starred in the controversial documentary Lucky Ducks. Her first book, Between a Rock and Hot Place: Why Fifty is Not the New Thirty, came out in 2011 and was optioned for a TV movie by Lifetime.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780399167195
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Blue Rider Press, 9/2014

John Branch - Boy on Ice

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey. 

Derek Boogaard lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota to the storied New York Rangers as the most feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But his death at age twenty-eight from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports. Boy on Ice ($26.95) is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.

John Branch is a reporter for the New York Times. His "Snow Fall" won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. He lives near San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 10/2014

Rod Stryker - The Four Desires

Learning to honor these four desires is the key to happiness, and to a complete and balanced life. But how can you discern what will truly satisfy your desires? How can you increase your capacity to achieve them? What if your desires seem to conflict with one another? Is it really possible to live a spiritual life while also wanting material pleasures and success? For more than three decades, master teacher Rod Stryker has taught yoga in the context of its deepest philosophy. His course, called The Yoga of Fulfillment, has helped thousands recognize their soul’s call to greatness and to achieve their dreams. Now, in The Four Desires: Creating a Life of Purpose, Happiness, Prosperity, and Freedom, he has distilled those broad teachings into a roadmap for becoming the person you were meant to be. It is filled with revealing true stories, provocative exercises, and practices for unlocking your inner guidance.

Rod Stryker is the founder of ParaYoga. Widely considered one of the preeminent yoga and meditation teachers in the United States, he has taught for more than thirty years. A longtime resident and teacher in Los Angeles, he now lives in Colorado with his wife, Gina, and their four children, Jaden, Theo, Asha, and Atreya. 

Don't miss Rod Styker at Yoga Tree
October 3

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780553803983
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Delacorte Press, 7/2011

Molly Idle - Flora and the Penguin

Part of our special Children's Book Day events! 

Having mastered ballet in Flora and the Flamingo, Flora takes to the ice and forms an unexpected friendship with a penguin in Flora and the Penguin. Twirling, leaping, spinning, and gliding, on skates and flippers, the duo mirror each other's graceful dance above and below the ice. But when Flora gives the penguin the cold shoulder, the pair must figure out a way to work together for uplifting results. Artist Molly Idle creates an innovative, wordless picture book with clever flaps that reveal Flora and the penguin coming together, spiraling apart, and coming back together as only true friends do.

Molly Idle began her career as an artist working for DreamWorks Animation, and from there she leapt into the world of children's books. She lives in Tempe, Arizona.

 

Other authors visiting for Children's Book Day include Ian Lendler (The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Macbeth) and Shirin Bridges, Janie Havemeyer, and Gretchen Maurer (A Treasury of Glorious Goddesses Series)!  

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781452128917
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books, 9/2014

Ian Lendler - The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Macbeth

Part of our special Children's Book Day events! 

The Stratford Zoo looks like a normal zoo... until the gates shut at night. That's when the animals come out of their cages to stage elaborate performances of Shakespeare's greatest works. They might not be the most accomplished thespians, but they've got what counts: heart. Also fangs, feathers, scales, and tails, in The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Macbeth

When Ian Lendler was younger, he really enjoyed acting in the theater. He was, however, extremely terrible at it. So he became a writer of children's books (An Undone Fairy Tale and Saturday) and non-fiction. But in order to support his family, he took a day job de-worming animals at the Stratford-on-Avon Zoo. He immediately recognized the talents of the troupe and began working with them on diction, dialect, and not eating the audience. When not working with his talented cast and crew, Ian sells lemonade on the sidewalk and plays the ukulele in San Rafael, CA. 
 
Other authors visiting for Children's Book Day include Molly Idle (Flora and the Penguin) and Shirin Bridges, Janie Havemeyer, and Gretchen Maurer (A Treasury of Glorious Goddesses Series)! 
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$19.99
ISBN-13: 9781626721012
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: First Second, 9/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs