Kathleen Jackson - Bind the Testimony

"Imagine sitting in a circle of fifteen men, men dressed in sky blue shirts and navy blue pants that have “CDCR Prisoner” stamped in bold yellow letters down one leg, men of varying ages, ethnicities, and backgrounds, men whose crimes include burglary, kidnapping, and murder. In my wildest imagination, I could not have pictured myself as part of that scene, and yet I have been sitting in such a circle at San Quentin State Prison, facilitating the Christian Creative Writing Class, for over two years, loving every moment and marveling at the men’s intensity. On a particular Friday morning in September of 2013, the men and I prayed and began the work of our class. After commenting on a piece of writing one of the students had shared, our conversation turned to a discussion of ways we could glorify God through our writing. James piped up: 'I think we should each write a testimony of how we came to Christ and put them all together in a book!' The fifteen men in the circle looked at one another and at me and grinned. And that was the genesis of Bind the Testimony". - Kathleen Jackson

Kathleen Jackson, a retired English teacher, volunteers at San Quentin State Prison as a facilitator, sponsor, and mentor for several groups, including Houses of Healing, CGA (Criminals and Gang Members Anonymous), Christian Creative Writing, VOEG (Victim Offender Education Group), and TRUST (Teaching Responsibility Utilizing Sociological Training). She is a member of the Garden Chapel Drama Team and the Citizens Advisory Committee to the Warden.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Gail Seneca - Geography Lesson: Stories of Finding the Way

In Geography Lesson: Stories of Finding the Way, with stories set in India, Africa, Burma and the United States, Gail Seneca introduces characters as diverse as a tribal boy in the jungles of Burma to a girl in the Bronx. Each of them must navigate the dangers of their environments, endure losses of family and innocence, and craft their own sense of meaning in a rapidly changing world. Whether on the banks of the Ganges River, a farm in Zimbabwe, or a casino in Atlantic City, these stories explore universal dilemmas. How can each of us survive the inevitable sufferings of our lives with dignity? How do we respond to injustice? Who are our counselors, our teachers, our allies? While each of the characters in this volume grapples with these questions in unique ways, all reveal aspects of the resourcefulness, the resilience and the fierce beauty of the human spirit.

Gail Seneca’s short stories and essays have appeared in numerous literary journals, including The MacGuffin, Passages North, Westview, and Switchback. The  first 2015 edition of Fourth Genre will feature her memoir piece on the Cuban Missile Crisis. Her first novel, Fracture: The Faultlines of the Heart, is forthcoming in 2015.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Kiera Butler - Raise: What 4-H Teaches Seven Million Kids & How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever

In Raise: What 4-H Teaches Seven Million Kids & How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever, when city-dwelling journalist Kiera Butler visits a county fair for the first time, she is captivated by the white-uniformed members of the 4-H club and their perfectly groomed animals. She sets off on a search for a “real” 4-H’er, a hypothetical wholesome youth whom she imagines wearing cowboy boots and living on a ranch. Along the way, she meets five teenage 4-H’ers from diverse backgrounds and gets to know them as they prepare to compete at the fair. Butler’s on-the-ground account of the teens’ concerns with their goats, pigs, sheep, proms, and SAT scores is interwoven with a fascinating history of the century-old 4-H club as it solicits corporate donations from top agribusiness firms such as DuPont, Monsanto, and Cargill. Her quest takes her from California’s cities and suburbs all the way to Ghana, where she investigates 4-H’s unprecedented push to expand its programs in the developing world—and the corporate partnership that is supporting this expansion.

Kiera Butler is a senior editor at Mother Jones.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$24.95
ISBN-13: 9780520275805
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: University of California Press, 11/2014

California Writers Club - Nayomi Munaweera

Nayomi Munaweera will speak about the 10 year journey of writing her first novel Island of a Thousand Mirrors.

In the tradition of Michael Ondatjee’s Anil’s Ghost and Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come.

Nayomi Munaweera was born in Sri Lanka, and grew up in Nigeria. She emigrated to the United States in her early teens, and now lives in Oakland, CA. Island of a Thousand Mirrors won the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize for the Asian Region and was longlisted for the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize. It is her first novel.

 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$24.99
ISBN-13: 9781250043931
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: St. Martin's Press, 9/2014

Jimmie Lewis - A Holy Relationship

A Holy Relationship is a memoir about a sacred path that author Jimmie Lewis took with his now deceased wife in order to create a vehicle for spiritual awareness. It is a love story about one couple who were committed to knowing and living the essence of love, a couple learning how to remove all blocks to intimacy between each other and themselves individually. It's about two people committed to knowing and living the essence of love, no matter what.

Jimmie Lewis is a licensed psychotherapist with a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology with a double major in transpersonal psychology and couple counseling.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$13.95
ISBN-13: 9780991462902
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Jimmie Lewis, 4/2014

Wendy Lesser - Why I Read: The Serious Pleasure of Books

In Why I Read, Lesser draws on a lifetime of pleasure reading and decades of editing to describe a life lived in and through literature. As Lesser examines work from such perspectives as “Character and Plot,” “Novelty,” “Grandeur and Intimacy,” and “Authority,” the reader will discover a definition of literature that is as broad as it is broad-minded. In addition to novels and stories, Lesser explores plays, poems, and essays, along with mysteries, science fiction, and memoirs. Her passion for reading is infectious—and it resonates on every page.

Wendy Lesser is the founder and editor of The Threepenny Review. She is the author of eight previous books of nonfiction and one novel, most recently the prizewinning book Music for Silence Voices: Shostakovich and His Fifteen String Quartets. She has written for The New York Times Book Review, The Times Literary Supplement, among other publications, and divides her time between Berkeley, California, and New York City.

 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$25.00
ISBN-13: 9780374289201
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs