Hollye Jacobs - The Silver Lining

The Silver Lining: A Supportive and Insightful Guide to Breast Cancer is The Girlfriend's Guide meets What to Expect for breast cancer patients. It's the book that author Hollye Jacobs, as a nurse and social worker-turned patient, wished she'd had while going through treatment that will serve as a lifeline to readers and a source of encouragement that is simultaneously honest and informative, practical and supportive, beautiful and serious, realistic and uplifting.

Hollye Jacobs, RN, MS, MSW, speaks publicly and writes about her experience on her award-winning blog, TheSilverPen.com. She is a frequent contributor to The Huffington Post, BreastCancer.org, Susan G. Komen, and the Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation Army of Women Blog. She lives in Santa Barbara, California, with her family.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$29.99
ISBN-13: 9781476743714
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Atria Books, 3/2014

Anne Germanacos - Tribute

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute ($16.00) is a work of prose--novel, essay, experiment in narrative?--created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story--forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived--and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it--gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls. Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Tribute (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988587342
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Rescue Press, 5/2014

Peter Orner - Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge

Peter Orner zeroes in on the strange ways our memories define us: A woman's husband dies before their divorce is finalized; a man runs for governor of Illinois and loses much more than an election; two brothers play beneath the infamous bridge at Chappaquiddick. Employing the masterful compression for which Orner has been widely praised, Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge presents a kaleidoscope of individual lives viewed in startling, intimate close-up. Whether writing of Geraldo Rivera's attempt to reveal the contents of Al Capone's vault or of a father and daughter trying to outrun a hurricane, Orner illuminates universal themes. In stories that span considerable geographic ground--from Chicago to Wyoming, from Massachusetts to the Czech Republic--he writes of the past we can't seem to shake, the losses we can't make up for, and the power of our stories to help us reclaim what we thought was gone forever.

Peter Orner is the author of Esther Stories, The Second Coming of Mavala Shikongo, and Love and Shame and Love. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the New York Times, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, Granta, McSweeney's, Best American Stories, and other periodicals. Orner has received the Rome Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, The Goldberg Prize for Jewish Fiction, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and two Pushcart Prizes. He teaches at San Francisco State University and lives in Bolinas, California.

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780316224611
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Back Bay Books, 8/2014

Samuel Fromartz - In Search of the Perfect Loaf

In 2009, journalist Samuel Fromartz was offered the assignment of a lifetime: to travel to France to work in a boulangerie. So began his quest to hone not just his homemade baguette—which later beat out professional bakeries to win the “Best Baguette of D.C.”—but his knowledge of bread, from seed to table. For the next four years, Fromartz traveled across the United States and Europe, perfecting his sourdough in California, his whole grain rye in Berlin, and his country wheat in the South of France. Along the way, he met historians, millers, farmers, wheat geneticists, sourdough biochemists, and everyone in between, learning about the history of breadmaking, the science of fermentation, and more. The result is In Search of the Perfect Loaf: A Home Baker's Odyssey, an informative yet personal account of bread and breadbaking, complete with detailed recipes, tips, and beautiful photographs.

Samuel Fromartz is a business journalist who began his career at Reuters in 1985. His first job was writing the "news ticker" that ran in New York City's Grand Central Station. He then covered virtually every aspect of business, working as a correspondent and editor in New York and Washington, D.C. He left Reuters in 1997 to pursue a freelance career. His work has since appeared in Fortune Small Business, Inc., Business Week, The New York Times, and many other publications. His story on a bankrupt restaurant chain was published in the anthology, Best Business Stories of the Year 2002. A native of Brooklyn, New York, he currently lives in Washington D.C., with his wife and daughter and works from home, a situation that affords him time to cook dinner for the family.

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780670025619
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Adult, 10/2014

Claire Thomas - The Kitchy Kitchen

A playful and delicious cookbook, from the host of ABC’s Food for Thought with Claire Thomas and creator of the much loved food blog The Kitchy Kitchen.
 
Every cook needs an arsenal of staples, whether for the perfect dinner party entrée to wow a crowd, or throw-it-together lunches for lazy afternoons…but we all know that the real fun comes in making basic recipes your own. The Kitchy Kitchen ($26.00) is tastemaker Claire Thomas’s solution for amping up your everyday culinary routine, introducing her approach to her own kitchen: loose, personal, unfussy, and most of all, fun.

With new takes on classic favorites—think adding farmer’s market peaches to upgrade a BLT, spicing up tempura cauliflower with a zesty harissa sauce, or transforming basic red velvet cupcakes into decadent pancakes—this cookbook is filled with fresh, produce-driven recipes for every skill set and occasion. It’s your best friend and personal chef, all rolled into one. Gorgeously illustrated and peppered with stylish entertaining tips and quirky essays that will inspire you to take the recipes you love and make them new, The Kitchy Kitchen will make your life in the kitchen a little easier, a little more fabulous, and positively delicious.

Claire Thomas is an unabashed food enthusiast and the host of Food for Thought with Claire Thomas, part of Litton’s Weekend Adventure on ABC. She works as a nationally recognized commercial director, food photographer, and writer, with her blog, The Kitchy Kitchen, as her experiment and much beloved playground. Born and raised in LA, Claire has turned food into an intellectual and grumbling stomach–driven passion.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781476710730
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Atria Books, 8/2014

Joe Konte - The Rivalry Heard 'Round the World: The Giants-Dodgers Feud from Coast to Coast

Games between the Dodgers and Giants are never just another day at the ballpark.

Dating back to the late nineteenth century--when the teams embodied the competitive spirit of rival metropolises of New York and Brooklyn--the Giants-Dodgers rivalry gained intensity throughout the early twentieth century. The venue had changed but the venom remained, and the rivalry became author Joe Konte's obsession.

A longtime newspaper editor and baseball fiend, Konte understands what is so special about what is one of the most significant rivalries in American sports. And so--via statistical analysis, game summaries, roster scrutiny, manager matchups, season recaps, and more--he has put together a rivalry bible. Focusing primarily on the California years, but also providing background on the origins and the New York years, The Rivalry Heard 'Round the World captures the spirit and intensity of one of the greatest rivalries in American sports.

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$24.95
ISBN-13: 9781613213995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Sports Publishing LLC, 9/2013



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs