Diana Yen - A Simple Feast

A beautiful cookbook destined to become an heirloom, A Simple Feast: A Year of Recipes to Savor and Share presents a year of life in food. Each chapter presents a story--apple picking, snow day, tea party, date night, rooftop barbeque, etc.--and recipes inspired by the whimsy that lies therein. The food here is simple and elegant, taking cues from the bounty of local markets and farms, embodying modern American cooking. This is a playful journey guided by the ever stylish Jewels of New York, who lead the reader through the seasons and the culinary adventures each has to offer.

Founded in 2009 and led by Diana Yen, The Jewels of New York is a multidisciplinary creative studio that combines the love of cooking with the beauty of everyday things. The studio aims to uncover the hidden treasures New York has to offer and share them with others through seasonally based cooking. With a background in home and lifestyle design, Yen brings a sense of beauty and community to the table.

 

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$29.95
ISBN-13: 9781611800326
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Roost Books, 5/2014

Steph Cha - Beware Beware

A fast-paced, gorgeously written follow-up to Steph Cha's critically acclaimed debut Follow Her Home, featuring a sharply observant, thoroughly modern sleuth with an unforgettable voice

No longer an amateur sleuth, Steph Cha’s “compelling and original” crime heroine Juniper Song is working as an apprentice for Chaz Lindley’s P.I. firm when she finds herself nose deep in a Hollywood murder scandal.  When a young woman named Daphne Freamon calls looking for an eye on her boyfriend, Chaz punts the client to Song.  Daphne is an independently wealthy painter living in New York, and her boyfriend Jamie Landon is a freelance screenwriter living in Los Angeles, ghostwriting a vanity project for movie star Joe Tilley.  Song quickly learns that there’s more to this case than a simple tail, and her suspicions are confirmed when Tilley winds up dead in a hotel room.  Nonetheless, when Jamie becomes the prime suspect in the movie star’s murder, she agrees to help the charismatic couple discover the truth, even as the police build their case against Jamie.  As she chases leads and questions grieving Hollywood insiders, she uncovers a sordid layer of blackmail and hidden identities, of a history of violence that leaves no one safe from judgment.

A stunningly written, fast-paced, and edgy read, Beware, Beware ($25.99) takes readers to the dark heart that beats behind the glittery surfaces of LA’s celebrity royalty and in a tale perfect for fans of Lisa Unger and Tana French.

Steph Cha is a graduate of Stanford University and Yale Law School. She lives in her native city of Los Angeles, California.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States
$25.99
ISBN-13: 9781250049018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Minotaur Books, 8/2014

San Francisco Grotto Writers - 3 Minute Reads

3 Minute Reads from San Francisco Grotto Writers 50+ Writers, 3 Minutes Each!

Join us for a fast-paced and irreverent evening, showcasing new work from the students of the San Francisco Writer's Grotto writing classes. On this Friday evening, both fiction and nonfiction writers will read their work — but only for 3 minutes each! Their instructors (Grotto authors) will enforce the time limit. Join us for wine, fun, and fresh new writing.

 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Hollye Jacobs - The Silver Lining

The Silver Lining: A Supportive and Insightful Guide to Breast Cancer is The Girlfriend's Guide meets What to Expect for breast cancer patients. It's the book that author Hollye Jacobs, as a nurse and social worker-turned patient, wished she'd had while going through treatment that will serve as a lifeline to readers and a source of encouragement that is simultaneously honest and informative, practical and supportive, beautiful and serious, realistic and uplifting.

Hollye Jacobs, RN, MS, MSW, speaks publicly and writes about her experience on her award-winning blog, TheSilverPen.com. She is a frequent contributor to The Huffington Post, BreastCancer.org, Susan G. Komen, and the Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation Army of Women Blog. She lives in Santa Barbara, California, with her family.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$29.99
ISBN-13: 9781476743714
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Atria Books, 3/2014

Anne Germanacos - Tribute

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute ($16.00) is a work of prose--novel, essay, experiment in narrative?--created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story--forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived--and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it--gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls. Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Tribute (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988587342
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Rescue Press, 5/2014

Peter Orner - Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge

Peter Orner zeroes in on the strange ways our memories define us: A woman's husband dies before their divorce is finalized; a man runs for governor of Illinois and loses much more than an election; two brothers play beneath the infamous bridge at Chappaquiddick. Employing the masterful compression for which Orner has been widely praised, Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge presents a kaleidoscope of individual lives viewed in startling, intimate close-up. Whether writing of Geraldo Rivera's attempt to reveal the contents of Al Capone's vault or of a father and daughter trying to outrun a hurricane, Orner illuminates universal themes. In stories that span considerable geographic ground--from Chicago to Wyoming, from Massachusetts to the Czech Republic--he writes of the past we can't seem to shake, the losses we can't make up for, and the power of our stories to help us reclaim what we thought was gone forever.

Peter Orner is the author of Esther Stories, The Second Coming of Mavala Shikongo, and Love and Shame and Love. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the New York Times, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, Granta, McSweeney's, Best American Stories, and other periodicals. Orner has received the Rome Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, The Goldberg Prize for Jewish Fiction, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and two Pushcart Prizes. He teaches at San Francisco State University and lives in Bolinas, California.

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780316224611
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Back Bay Books, 8/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs