Joe Clifford - Lamentation

In a frigid New Hampshire winter, Jay Porter is trying to eke out a living and maintain some semblance of a relationship with his former girlfriend and their two-year-old son. When he receives an urgent call that Chris, his drug-addicted and chronically drunk brother, is being questioned by the sheriff about his missing junkie business partner, Jay feels obliged to come to his rescue. After Jay negotiates his brother's release from the county jail, Chris disappears into the night. As Jay begins to search for him, he is plunged into a cauldron of ugly lies and long-kept secrets that could tear apart his small hometown and threaten the lives of Jay and all those he holds dear. In the incredibly supsenseful Lamentation, powerful forces come into play that will stop at nothing until Chris is dead and the information he harbors is destroyed.

Joe Clifford acts as acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and managing editor of The Flash Fiction Offensive. He also produces Lip Service West, a "gritty, real, raw" reading series in Oakland, CA. Joe is the author of three books: Choice Cuts, Wake the Undertaker, and Junkie Love. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Lamentation (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781608091331
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing, 10/2014

Terry Shames - Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek

In Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek, the town is bankrupt. Gary Dellmore, heir apparent to the main bank, is dead, apparently murdered. Samuel Craddock thought he was retired but now he's been asked to return as police chief. Dellmore supposedly had a roving eye, although his wife says he was never serious about dallying. Still, Craddock wonders: Did the husbands and fathers of women he flirted with think he was harmless? What about his current lover, who insists that Dellmore was going to leave his wife for her?

Craddock discovers that Dellmore had a record of bad business investments. Even worse, he took a kickback from a loan he procured, which ultimately drove the town into bankruptcy. Many people had motive to want Dellmore dead.

Then the investigation turns up another crime. As Craddock digs down to the root of this mess, many in Jarrett Creek are left wondering what happened to the innocence of their close-knit community.

Terry Shames is the author of A Killing at Cotton Hill and The Last Death of Jack Harbin, the first two Samuel Craddock mysteries. She is the coeditor of Fire in the Hills, a book of stories, poems, and photographs about the 1991 Oakland Hills Fire. She grew up in Texas and continues to be fascinated by the convoluted loyalties and betrayals of the small town where her grandfather was the mayor.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781616149963
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Seventh Street Books, 10/2014

Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014

Karen Page - The Vegetarian Flavor Bible

Throughout time, people have chosen to adopt a vegetarian or vegan diet for a variety of reasons, from ethics to economy to personal and planetary well-being. Experts now suggest a new reason for doing so: maximizing flavor - which is too often masked by meat-based stocks or butter and cream. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible ($40.00) is an essential guide to culinary creativity, based on insights from dozens of leading American chefs, representing such acclaimed restaurants as Crossroads and M.A.K.E. in Los Angeles; Candle 79, Dirt Candy, and Kajitsu in New York City, Green Zebra in Chicago, Greens and Millennium in San Francisco, Natural Selection and Portobello in Portland, Plum Bistro in Seattle, and Vedge in Philadelphia.

Emphasizing plant-based whole foods including vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds, the book provides an A-to-Z listing of hundreds of ingredients, from açaí to zucchini blossoms, cross-referenced with the herbs, spices, and other seasonings that best enhance their flavor, resulting in thousands of recommended pairings. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible is the ideal reference for the way millions of people cook and eat today-- vegetarians, vegans, and omnivores alike. This groundbreaking book will empower both home cooks and professional chefs to create more compassionate, healthful, and flavorful cuisine.

Karen Page is a two-time James Beard Award-winning author whose books include The Flavor Bible, which was named one of the year's best cookbooks on both Today and Good Morning America, one of the 100 best cookbooks of the last twenty-five years by Cooking Light, and one of the ten best cookbooks in the world of the past century by Forbes. The former Washington Post wine columnist is also the author of What to Drink with What You Eat, which was named the IACP Cookbook of the Year and Georges Duboeuf Wine Book of the Year. She lives with her husband, author and photographer Andrew Dornenburg, in New York City.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780316244183
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 10/2014

Book Group: John Hart - Reading the Poets

10/28/2014 9:00 pm
Eight Tuesdays: Oct. 28-Dec. 16 • 7:00-9:00 pm • $200
 
 
 
 
“To have great poets,” Walt Whitman said, “there must be great audiences, too.” What makes a poem worth reading? This group looks at famous poets from several centuries and from several literatures. Widely published local poet and author John Hart co-edits the venerable all-poetry journal Blue Unicorn, now in its 37th year.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Jim Dwyer - More Awesome Than Money

Diaspora has been tech news since day one, but the story reaches far beyond Silicon Valley to the now urgent issues about the future of the Internet. In More Awesome Than Money: Four Boys and Their Heroic Quest to Save Your Privacy from Facebook, New York Times bestselling author Jim Dwyer tells a riveting story of four ambitious and naÏve young men who tried to rebottle the genie of personal privacy—and paid the ultimate price.

Jim Dwyer is a Pulitzer Prize--winning reporter who writes the "About New York" column for The New York Times. He has written or co-written six books, including 102 Minutes, which spent twelve weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. He lives in New York City.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780670025602
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Adult, 10/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs