Kazuo Ishiguro - The Buried Giant

Angelico Hall, Dominican University

Tickets: $35 (includes a signed copy of the book)

Co-sponsored by OLLI along with the School of Arts Humanities and Social Science 

 

 

In conversation with Dave Eggers

In Kazuo Ishiguro’s much-anticipated new release, The Buried Giant, the Romans have long since departed, and Britain is steadily declining into ruin. But at least the wars that once ravaged the country have ceased.

The novel begins as a couple, Axl and Beatrice, set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in the hope of finding a son they have not seen for years. They expect to face many hazards--some strange and other-worldly--but they cannot yet foresee how their journey will reveal to them dark and forgotten corners of their love for one another. Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Kazuo Ishiguro's first novel in a decade is about lost memories, love, revenge and war.

Kazuo Ishiguro is one of the most celebrated contemporary fiction authors in the English-speaking world, having received four Man Booker Prize nominations, and winning the 1989 award for his novel The Remains of the Day. In 2008, The New York Times ranked Ishiguro 32nd on their list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945.” Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of 5. He is the author of 6 novels: A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize), The Unconsoled (1995, winner of the Cheltenham Prize), When We Were Orphans (2000, shortlisted for the Booker Prize) and Never Let Me Go (2005, Corine Internationaler Buchpreis, Serono Literary Prize, Casino de Santiago European Novel Award, shortlisted for the Booker Prize). Nocturnes, his connected stories collection, was awarded the Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa International Literary Prize. In 1995 Ishiguro received an OBE for Services to Literature and in 1998 the French decoration of Chevalier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Location: 
Street:
Dominican University, Angelico Hall
Additional:
50 Acacia Ave
City:
San Rafael
,
Postal Code:
94901
$25.95
ISBN-13: 9780307271037
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf, 3/2015

Jacob Rubin - The Poser

In the vein of Jonathan Lethem’s and Kevin Wilson’s playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin’s debut novel, The Poser, is a caffeinated, wildly comic, maximalist performance that chronicles the adventures of Giovanni Bernini, the World’s Greatest Impressionist—a man whose bizarre talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to widespread fame. Rubin, who currently writes screenplays, was previously a standup comic, a magician for hire, and the lead singer of the hip hop group Witness Protection Program, opening for acts like Jurassic Five and Blackalicious. In The Poser, he has blended his eccentric experiences as a performer into this deeply insightful and wholly original novel that undeniably marks the debut of a major literary voice in contemporary American fiction.

Jacob Rubin’s writing has appeared in Best New American Voices, New York magazine, Slate, n + 1, and The New Republic. Times Square, a screenplay he co-wrote, was recently acquired by Focus Features. He received an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Mississippi, and graduated magna cum laude from Harvard College.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

The Poser (Hardcover)

$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780670016761
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Adult, 3/2015

Dean Rader - 99 Poems for the 99 Percent

American poetry has a rich tradition of taking on important political and social events. The 99 poems in this diverse and dynamic new collection demonstrate how engagement with what Wallace Stevens called “the actual world” does not diminish poetry’s punch—rather it makes it hit harder. Born out of a popular blog begun by Dean Rader at the height of the recession and at the infancy of the Occupy movements, 99 Poems for the 99 Percent shows that the aims of poetry and the aims of democracy go hand-in-hand. These are poems of anger, love, protest, humor, contemplation, hope, frustration, and beauty. These are poems by the famous and the marginal, by the heard and the ignored. These are poems that speak to the past as well as the future. These are poems of and for the real America.

Dean Rader’s debut collection of poems Works & Days won the 2010 T. S. Eliot Prize, and his newest collection, Landscape/Portrait/Figure/Form was named by the Barnes & Noble Review as one of the Best Poetry Books of 2013. He is a professor and department chair at the University of San Francisco.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988266223
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: 99: The Press, 7/2014

Anita Hughes - French Coast

Serena has the job she's always dreamed of and Chase, the man her heart never dared to. As a new editor at Vogue, she bags the biggest interview of the year with Yvette Renault, the infamous former editor of French Vogue, in The Carlton-InterContinental Hotel during the Cannes Film Festival. She eagerly jets off to France while Chase stays home, working with her father, a former senator, on his upcoming mayoral campaign.

Everything feels unbelievably perfect...until it doesn't. The hotel loses her reservation hours before her big interview. Serena fears that she'll have to go home without her story, but then she meets Zoe, a quirky young woman staying in the suite below Yvette’s who invites Serena to stay with her. Serena is grateful for her mysterious roommate's generosity, but it seems that there's more to her story than meets the eye. To make matters worse, soon after arriving in Cannes, Serena learns a shocking secret about her parents' marriage, and it isn't long before she begins to question her own relationship. With her deadline looming and pressure mounting, Serena will have to use her investigative journalism skills, new friendships, and a little luck to get her life and love back on track. Fast paced and impeccably written, French Coast will draw readers in to the intoxicating world of the Cote D'Azur

Anita Hughes is also the author of Lake Como, Monarch Beach, and Market Street. She attended UC Berkeley’s Masters in Creative Writing Program, and has taught Creative Writing at The Branson School in Ross, California.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

French Coast (Hardcover)

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9781250066107
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: St. Martin's Griffin, 4/2015

Susan Terris & CB Follett - Memos & Of Gravity and Tides

 "In reading C B Follett’s most recent collection, I've realized that, poem by poem, it holds many of her most precisely poised and deeply powerful poems yet. These often wrenching family poems constellate and adhere in a remarkable way, informing one another, talking back to one another -- multiplying the poignancy and sadness and luminous victories as well. These are incredible poems of parents and children, the whole web of family and loss. The cosmic beauty of the title section is stunning, yet the book builds carefully to its final section, 'Into the Light,' where each poem is just exquisite, perfectly and simply balanced, as we move to the book’s elegant and moving conclusion."
– David St. John

Susan Terris was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri. She has a B.A. degree in English literature from Wellesley College and an M.A. from San Francisco State University. For seven years she edited Runes, A Review of Poetry. She is now editor of Spillway and a poetry editor for Pedestal Magazine and In Posse Review. In addition to writing & journal editing, she does freelance editing of book-length poetry manuscripts and teaches workshops on “The Making of a Chapbook”.

CB Follett is the author of 9 books of poems, the most recent Of Gravity and Tides, and several chapterbooks, most recently Wind Rose. At the Turning of the Light won the 2001 National Poetry Book Award. She is Editor/Publisher of Arctos Press, was publisher and co-editor (with Susan Terris) of Runes, a Review of Poetry (2001-2008). Follett has numerous nominations for Pushcart Prizes for individual poems, as well as eight nominations as a individual poet; a Marin Arts Council Grant for Poetry; awards and honors and been widely published both nationally and internationally. Follett was Poet Laureate of Marin County, CA, USA. (2010-2013)

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780979518577
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Many Voices Press, 4/2013

Class: Anne Lamott - On Writing

05/02/2015 4:00 pm

Sat., May 2 • 1:00 - 4:00 pm • $150

 

 

Join Anne Lamott, the bestselling author of Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life, for an afternoon that includes an onstage interview, a lecture, and a Q&A session. Anne Lamott offers advice on the writing process, while also touching upon the experiences of the writer and the writing life. Writers working at all levels are encouraged to learn from one of the great writers of our time. Anne Lamott taught the first Book Passage writing class almost two decades ago. It’s a joy to welcome her back.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780385480017
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Anchor, 9/1995



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs