John Branch - Boy on Ice

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey. 

Derek Boogaard lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota to the storied New York Rangers as the most feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But his death at age twenty-eight from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports. Boy on Ice ($26.95) is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.

John Branch is a reporter for the New York Times. His "Snow Fall" won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. He lives near San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 10/2014

Lauren Oliver - Rooms

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. But the Walkers are not alone. Long dead former residents linger within in the house's claustrophobic walls. Though their voices cannot be heard, they speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Lauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novel Before I Fall and the international bestselling Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. She is also the author of two novels for middle-grade readers, The Spindlers and Lisel & Po, which was a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, she lives in Brooklyn, New York. 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94110

Rooms (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780062223197
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press, 9/2014

Andrea Martin - Lady Parts

Whether stealing scenes on the big screen in My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Hedwig and the Angry Inch, or starring on the stage in her recent Tony award winning role as Berthe in Pippin, Andrea Martin has long entertained audiences with her hilarious characterizations and heartwarming performances. Martin has worked stages, sets and even trapezes across North America, playing to houses packed with adoring fans, all of whom instantly recognize the star who has entertained us for nearly forty years.

In Andrea Martin’s Lady Parts, Martin, for the first time, shares her fondest remembrances of a life in show business, motherhood, relationships, no relationships, family, chimps in tutus, squirrels, and why she flies to Atlanta to get her hair cut. Martin opens up her heart in a series of eclectic, human, always entertaining and often moving essays. These stories will make you giggle and may make you cry. This is a powerful collection by a woman with a truly storied life.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Lady Parts (Hardcover)

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062387288
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper, 9/2014

Rod Stryker - The Four Desires

Learning to honor these four desires is the key to happiness, and to a complete and balanced life. But how can you discern what will truly satisfy your desires? How can you increase your capacity to achieve them? What if your desires seem to conflict with one another? Is it really possible to live a spiritual life while also wanting material pleasures and success? For more than three decades, master teacher Rod Stryker has taught yoga in the context of its deepest philosophy. His course, called The Yoga of Fulfillment, has helped thousands recognize their soul’s call to greatness and to achieve their dreams. Now, in The Four Desires: Creating a Life of Purpose, Happiness, Prosperity, and Freedom, he has distilled those broad teachings into a roadmap for becoming the person you were meant to be. It is filled with revealing true stories, provocative exercises, and practices for unlocking your inner guidance.

Rod Stryker is the founder of ParaYoga. Widely considered one of the preeminent yoga and meditation teachers in the United States, he has taught for more than thirty years. A longtime resident and teacher in Los Angeles, he now lives in Colorado with his wife, Gina, and their four children, Jaden, Theo, Asha, and Atreya. 

Don't miss Rod Styker at Yoga Tree
October 3

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780553803983
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Delacorte Press, 7/2011

Class: Eli Brown - The Story Happens Here

10/04/2014 4:00 pm
Sat., Oct. 4 • 10:00-4:00pm • $105
 
 
 
 
 
The body dragged down the hallway. The urgent assignation in the janitor’s closet. The bitter argument in the pick-up truck. While plot and character tend to get most of the credit, setting carries much of a story’s weight. Exploring setting is a surprisingly effective way to develop emotional depth and tension. In this course we’ll make maps, dissect landscapes, and find clues to the heart of our narrative: loose floorboards; the odor of disinfectant; dandelions wilting on the dashboard. Eli Brown is the author of Cinnamon & Gunpowder. 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Molly Idle - Flora and the Penguin

Having mastered ballet in Flora and the Flamingo, Flora takes to the ice and forms an unexpected friendship with a penguin in Flora and the Penguin. Twirling, leaping, spinning, and gliding, on skates and flippers, the duo mirror each other's graceful dance above and below the ice. But when Flora gives the penguin the cold shoulder, the pair must figure out a way to work together for uplifting results. Artist Molly Idle creates an innovative, wordless picture book with clever flaps that reveal Flora and the penguin coming together, spiraling apart, and coming back together as only true friends do.

Molly Idle began her career as an artist working for DreamWorks Animation, and from there she leapt into the world of children's books. She lives in Tempe, Arizona.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781452128917
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books, 9/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs