Anne Germanacos - Tribute

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute ($16.00) is a work of prose--novel, essay, experiment in narrative?--created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story--forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived--and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it--gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls. Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States

Tribute (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988587342
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Rescue Press, 5/2014

Sandra Gilbert - The Culinary Imagination

In this stunning and important work, the prominent critic, poet, and memoirist Sandra M. Gilbert explores our relationship with food and eating through discussions of literature, art, and popular culture. Focusing on contemporary practices, The Culinary Imagination ($29.95) traces the social, aesthetic, and political history of food from myth to modernity, from ancient sources to our current wave of food mania.
 
What does it mean to transform raw stuff into cooked dishes, which then become part of our own bodies; to savor festive meals yet resolve to renounce gluttony; to act as predators where in another life we might have become prey? Do the rituals of the kitchen have different meanings for men and women, for professional chefs and home cooks? Why, today, do so many of us turn so passionately toward table topics, on the page, online, and on screen? What are the philosophical implications of the food chain on which we all find ourselves?

In The Culinary Imagination, Gilbert addresses these powerful questions through meditations on myths and memoirs, children's books, novels, poems, food blogs, paintings, TV shows, and movies. Discussing figures from Rex Stout to Julia Child and Andy Warhol, from M. F. K. Fisher and Sylvia Plath to Alice Waters and Peter Singer, she analyzes the politics and poetics of our daily bread, investigating our complex self-definitions as producers, consumers, and connoisseurs of food. The result is an ambitious, lively, and learned examination of the ways in which our culture's artists have represented food across a range of genres.

Sandra M. Gilbert has published numerous volumes of criticism, including, most recently, Death's Door: Modern Dying and the Ways We Grieve, as well as eight collections of poetry and a memoir. She is coeditor (with Susan Gubar) of The Norton Anthology of Literature by Women and a recipient of the National Book Critics Circle's Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. A Distinguished Professor of English emerita at the University of California, Davis, she lives in Berkeley, California.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$29.95
ISBN-13: 9780393067651
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 8/2014

Class: Graciela Pera - Spanish 2

09/10/2014 11:00 am
Eight Wednesdays: Sept. 10-Oct. 29 • 9:00-11:00 am • $250
 
 
 
 
Continuation of grammar and language immersion. Graciela Pera was born in Buenos Aires. She is a graduate of the University of Buenos Aires and has been teaching Spanish for over 35 years.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Daisy Hernández - A Cup of Water Under My Bed

A coming-of-age memoir by a Colombian-Cuban woman about shaping lessons from home into a new, queer life

In her lyrical coming-of-age memoir, Daisy Hernández, the daughter of a Colombian mother and Cuban father, chronicles what the colorful women in her community taught her about race, sex, money, and love. On the outskirts of New York City, Daisy starts out in English-as-a-second-language classes and ends up writing for the New York Times. In between, she struggles to come out as a bisexual and rebels against her family's expectations that she become white-like the Italians. A touching and heartfelt exploration of family and identity, A Cup of Water Under My Bed ($24.95) is about sexuality, immigration, race, and class, but it is ultimately a daughter's story of shaping lessons from home into a new, queer life.

Daisy Hernández is the coeditor of Colonize This! Young Women of Color on Today's Feminism and former executive editor of ColorLines magazine. She speaks at colleges and conferences about feminism, race, and media justice, and her writing has appeared in the New York Times, NPR's All Things Considered, and Ms. magazine. She lives in Arlington, Virginia.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$24.95
ISBN-13: 9780807014486
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Beacon Press, 9/2014

Class: Wendy Walsh - Advanced Italian

09/11/2014 11:00 am
Nine Thursdays: Sept. 11-Nov. 13 (no class Nov. 6) • 9:00-11:00 am • $280
 
 
 
 
Wendy Walsh has a Ph.D. in Italian Literature from UCB. She has been teaching Italian language, literature, and cooking since 1979. Join Wendy after class in the café for informal Italian conversation.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Class: Hamid Emami - Beginning Conversational German

09/11/2014 11:30 am
Eight Thursdays: Sept. 11-Oct. 30 • 9:30-11:30 am • $250
 
 
 
 
This class is for beginners or those who have previously had some exposure to German.Hamid Emami has a master’s degree from the University of Hamburg, and he is fluent in German, English, French, Spanish, and Farsi. He has taught German for many years.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs