David Bezmozgis - The Betrayers

These incandescent pages give us one fraught, momentous day in the life of Baruch Kotler, a Soviet Jewish dissident who now finds himself a disgraced Israeli politician. When he refuses to back down from a contrary but principled stand regarding the settlements in the West Bank, his political opponents expose his affair with a mistress decades his junior, and the besieged couple escapes to Yalta, the faded Crimean resort of Kotler's youth. There, shockingly, Kotler comes face-to-face with the former friend whose denunciation sent him to the Gulag almost forty years earlier.

In a whirling twenty-four hours, Kotler must face the ultimate reckoning, both with those who have betrayed him and with those whom he has betrayed, including a teenage daughter, a son facing his own moral dilemma in the Israeli army, and the wife who once campaigned to secure his freedom and stood by him through so much.

Stubborn, wry, and self-knowing, Baruch Kotler is one of the great creations of contemporary fiction. An aging man grasping for a final passion, he is drawn inexorably into a crucible that is both personal and biblical in scope.

In prose that is elegant, sly, precise, and devastating in its awareness of the human heart, David Bezmozgis has rendered a story for the ages, an inquest into the nature of fate and consequence, love and forgiveness. The Betrayers ($26.00) is a high-wire act, a powerful tale of morality and sacrifice that will haunt readers long after they turn the final page.

David Bezmozgis is an award-winning writer and filmmaker whose fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, Harper's, Zoetrope, and Best American Short Stories. He was named one of The New Yorker's "20 Under 40" writers in 2010. He lives in Toronto.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

The Betrayers (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780316284332
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 9/2014

Book Group: Pamela Feinsilber - Meet the Author

09/29/2014 9:00 pm
Four Mondays • Sept. 29, Oct. 27, Nov. 24, and Dec. 15 • 7:00-9:00 pm • $95
 
 
 
 
Two of the authors we’ll be talking with are Tom Barbash and Carolina de Robertis. Barbash, whose acclaimed story collection, Stay Up With Me, made NPR’s Guide to 2013’s Great Reads, is “a true craftsman” (N.Y.Times). In de Robertis’s novel Perla, “a sensitive exploration of love, loyalty, and hope in the wake of atrocity” (New Yorker), a young Argentine woman who knows her father must have played a part in displacing the thousands who “disappeared” during a previous regime learns more from a mysterious stranger. Others TBA

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$13.99
ISBN-13: 9780062258137
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Ecco Press, 5/2014

Perla (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780307744173
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Vintage, 2/2013

Paul Williams & Tracey Jackson - Gratitude & Trust

Gratitude & Trust ($27.95) is a book designed to apply the principles of the recovery movement to those countless people who are not addicts but nevertheless need effective help with their difficulties and pain. Paul Williams, an award-winning songwriter, actor, and performer, has embraced a traditional alcoholism recovery plan for more than two decades of sobriety. Tracey Jackson, a well-known TV and film writer – and veteran of many years of traditional therapy—has never been a drunk nor a drug abuser, but realized that many of the tenets of Williams’ program could apply to her.  In Gratitude & Trust, Williams and Jackson ask: What happens to those who struggle with vexing problems but are not full-blown addicts? Are there any lessons to be learned from the foundational and time-tested principles of the recovery movement?

Whether you’re tethered to your phone or turn to food for comfort; whether you’re a perfectionist and can’t let things go or are too afraid to fail to even try; whether you can find intimacy only on the Internet or you’ve been involved in a string of nasty relationships—the first step toward feeling better about yourself and your life is the realization that you are what’s standing in your way. Williams and Jackson have designed a new, positive program, based on a half dozen new affirmations, that can help conquer your vices, address personal dysfunctions and start to brighten the darkest moods. Gratitude & Trust is an essential, inspirational, and uplifting guide to identifying and changing maladaptive behaviors in order to uncover your most productive and healthiest self.
 
Paul Williams is an Oscar, Grammy, and Golden Globe winning Hall of Fame songwriter and President of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). He is a major public force in the recovery movement, a graduate of UCLA's Drug and Alcohol Counseling Certification Program and has served as a member of the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Board of Directors. He was a founding board member and counselor for the Musicians Assistance Program (MAP), now the treatment wing of MusiCares. He has been a passionate public advocate for the recovery movement for the past twenty-four years.

Tracey Jackson wrote the films Confessions of a Shopaholic, The Guru, and The Other End of the Line among others. She has also written twelve TV pilots, and created the series BABES for Fox TV. Tracey wrote, directed, and starred in the controversial documentary Lucky Ducks. Her first book, Between a Rock and Hot Place: Why Fifty is Not the New Thirty, came out in 2011 and was optioned for a TV movie by Lifetime.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780399167195
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Blue Rider Press, 9/2014

John Branch - Boy on Ice

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey. 

Derek Boogaard lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota to the storied New York Rangers as the most feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But his death at age twenty-eight from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports. Boy on Ice ($26.95) is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.

John Branch is a reporter for the New York Times. His "Snow Fall" won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. He lives near San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 10/2014

Lauren Oliver - Rooms

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. But the Walkers are not alone. Long dead former residents linger within in the house's claustrophobic walls. Though their voices cannot be heard, they speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Lauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novel Before I Fall and the international bestselling Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. She is also the author of two novels for middle-grade readers, The Spindlers and Lisel & Po, which was a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, she lives in Brooklyn, New York. 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94110

Rooms (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780062223197
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press, 9/2014

Class: Eli Brown - The Story Happens Here

10/04/2014 4:00 pm
Sat., Oct. 4 • 10:00-4:00pm • $105
 
 
 
 
 
The body dragged down the hallway. The urgent assignation in the janitor’s closet. The bitter argument in the pick-up truck. While plot and character tend to get most of the credit, setting carries much of a story’s weight. Exploring setting is a surprisingly effective way to develop emotional depth and tension. In this course we’ll make maps, dissect landscapes, and find clues to the heart of our narrative: loose floorboards; the odor of disinfectant; dandelions wilting on the dashboard. Eli Brown is the author of Cinnamon & Gunpowder. 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs