Paul Williams & Tracey Jackson - Gratitude & Trust

Gratitude & Trust ($27.95) is a book designed to apply the principles of the recovery movement to those countless people who are not addicts but nevertheless need effective help with their difficulties and pain. Paul Williams, an award-winning songwriter, actor, and performer, has embraced a traditional alcoholism recovery plan for more than two decades of sobriety. Tracey Jackson, a well-known TV and film writer – and veteran of many years of traditional therapy—has never been a drunk nor a drug abuser, but realized that many of the tenets of Williams’ program could apply to her.  In Gratitude & Trust, Williams and Jackson ask: What happens to those who struggle with vexing problems but are not full-blown addicts? Are there any lessons to be learned from the foundational and time-tested principles of the recovery movement?

Whether you’re tethered to your phone or turn to food for comfort; whether you’re a perfectionist and can’t let things go or are too afraid to fail to even try; whether you can find intimacy only on the Internet or you’ve been involved in a string of nasty relationships—the first step toward feeling better about yourself and your life is the realization that you are what’s standing in your way. Williams and Jackson have designed a new, positive program, based on a half dozen new affirmations, that can help conquer your vices, address personal dysfunctions and start to brighten the darkest moods. Gratitude & Trust is an essential, inspirational, and uplifting guide to identifying and changing maladaptive behaviors in order to uncover your most productive and healthiest self.
 
Paul Williams is an Oscar, Grammy, and Golden Globe winning Hall of Fame songwriter and President of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). He is a major public force in the recovery movement, a graduate of UCLA's Drug and Alcohol Counseling Certification Program and has served as a member of the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Board of Directors. He was a founding board member and counselor for the Musicians Assistance Program (MAP), now the treatment wing of MusiCares. He has been a passionate public advocate for the recovery movement for the past twenty-four years.

Tracey Jackson wrote the films Confessions of a Shopaholic, The Guru, and The Other End of the Line among others. She has also written twelve TV pilots, and created the series BABES for Fox TV. Tracey wrote, directed, and starred in the controversial documentary Lucky Ducks. Her first book, Between a Rock and Hot Place: Why Fifty is Not the New Thirty, came out in 2011 and was optioned for a TV movie by Lifetime.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780399167195
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Blue Rider Press, 9/2014

Maureen Corrigan - So We Read On

Conceived nearly a century ago by a man who died believing himself a failure, it's now a revered classic and a rite of passage in the reading lives of millions. But how well do we really know The Great Gatsby? As Maureen Corrigan, Gatsby lover extraordinaire, points out, while Fitzgerald's masterpiece may be one of the most popular novels in America, many of us first read it when we were too young to fully comprehend its power.

Offering a fresh perspective on what makes Gatsby great-and utterly unusual-So We Read On takes us into archives, high school classrooms, and even out onto the Long Island Sound to explore the novel's hidden depths, a journey whose revelations include Gatsby's surprising debt to hard-boiled crime fiction, its rocky path to recognition as a "classic," and its profound commentaries on the national themes of race, class, and gender.

With rigor, wit, and infectious enthusiasm, Corrigan inspires us to re-experience the greatness of Gatsby and cuts to the heart of why we are, as a culture, "borne back ceaselessly" into its thrall. Along the way, she spins a new and fascinating story of her own.

Maureen Corrigan is the book critic for NPR's Fresh Air, the Critic-in-Residence at Georgetown University, and winner of the Edgar Award for Criticism. She is the author of Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780316230070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 9/2014

John Branch - Boy on Ice

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey. 

Derek Boogaard lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota to the storied New York Rangers as the most feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But his death at age twenty-eight from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports. Boy on Ice ($26.95) is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.

John Branch is a reporter for the New York Times. His "Snow Fall" won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. He lives near San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 10/2014

Lauren Oliver - Rooms

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. But the Walkers are not alone. Long dead former residents linger within in the house's claustrophobic walls. Though their voices cannot be heard, they speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Lauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novel Before I Fall and the international bestselling Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. She is also the author of two novels for middle-grade readers, The Spindlers and Lisel & Po, which was a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, she lives in Brooklyn, New York. 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94110

Rooms (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780062223197
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press, 9/2014

Class: Leslie Keenan - You Can Complete That Book

10/02/2014 8:30 pm
Six Thursdays: Oct. 2 - Nov. 6 • 6:30-8:30pm • $240
 
 
 
 
 
 
Have you started a book but haven't been able to finish it? Leslie Keenan has 30 years of experience helping writers get their books done. She knows the most reasons writers get stuck and can help them get back in flow again. Students will leave with a strategy for completing their book. Also covered is advice on the best way to get a book published, including suggestions for agents, editors, publishers, and printers. 
 
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Andrea Martin - Lady Parts

Whether stealing scenes on the big screen in My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Hedwig and the Angry Inch, or starring on the stage in her recent Tony award winning role as Berthe in Pippin, Andrea Martin has long entertained audiences with her hilarious characterizations and heartwarming performances. Martin has worked stages, sets and even trapezes across North America, playing to houses packed with adoring fans, all of whom instantly recognize the star who has entertained us for nearly forty years.

In Andrea Martin’s Lady Parts, Martin, for the first time, shares her fondest remembrances of a life in show business, motherhood, relationships, no relationships, family, chimps in tutus, squirrels, and why she flies to Atlanta to get her hair cut. Martin opens up her heart in a series of eclectic, human, always entertaining and often moving essays. These stories will make you giggle and may make you cry. This is a powerful collection by a woman with a truly storied life.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Lady Parts (Hardcover)

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062387288
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Harper, 9/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs