Class: Gisella Petrone - Lower Intermediate Italian

09/09/2014 12:15 pm

Eight Tuesdays: Sept. 9- Oct. 28 • 10:30-12:15pm • $250

 

 

 

Gisella Petrone has a Master’s degree from the University of Calabria. She has taught Eng­lish, Italian, Latin, Roman History, and Italian cooking.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

Book Group: Pat Holt - Contemporary Classics

09/09/2014 12:30 pm
Five Tuesdays: Sept. 9, Oct. 14, Nov. 11, Dec. 9, & Jan. 13 • 10:30-12:30pm • $105
 
 
 
 
Pat Holt leads a discussion of books that have captured the contemporary imagination. Holt is the former book review editor of the San Francisco Chronicle and publisher of Holt Uncensored.
 
September: Schroder, Amity Gage
October: We Need New Names, NoViolet Bulawayo,
November: A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Anthony Marra
December: Young God, Katherine Faw Morris
January: All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

Schroder (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9781455512126
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Twelve, 10/2013

We Need New Names (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780316230841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Back Bay Books, 5/2014

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780770436421
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Hogarth, 2/2014

Young God (Hardcover)

$24.00
ISBN-13: 9780374534233
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 5/2014

$31.99
ISBN-13: 9781410470225
Large Print
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Thorndike Press, 7/2014

Anne Germanacos - Tribute

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute ($16.00) is a work of prose--novel, essay, experiment in narrative?--created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story--forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived--and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it--gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls. Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Tribute (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988587342
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Rescue Press, 5/2014

Sandra Gilbert - The Culinary Imagination

In this stunning and important work, the prominent critic, poet, and memoirist Sandra M. Gilbert explores our relationship with food and eating through discussions of literature, art, and popular culture. Focusing on contemporary practices, The Culinary Imagination ($29.95) traces the social, aesthetic, and political history of food from myth to modernity, from ancient sources to our current wave of food mania.
 
What does it mean to transform raw stuff into cooked dishes, which then become part of our own bodies; to savor festive meals yet resolve to renounce gluttony; to act as predators where in another life we might have become prey? Do the rituals of the kitchen have different meanings for men and women, for professional chefs and home cooks? Why, today, do so many of us turn so passionately toward table topics, on the page, online, and on screen? What are the philosophical implications of the food chain on which we all find ourselves?

In The Culinary Imagination, Gilbert addresses these powerful questions through meditations on myths and memoirs, children's books, novels, poems, food blogs, paintings, TV shows, and movies. Discussing figures from Rex Stout to Julia Child and Andy Warhol, from M. F. K. Fisher and Sylvia Plath to Alice Waters and Peter Singer, she analyzes the politics and poetics of our daily bread, investigating our complex self-definitions as producers, consumers, and connoisseurs of food. The result is an ambitious, lively, and learned examination of the ways in which our culture's artists have represented food across a range of genres.

Sandra M. Gilbert has published numerous volumes of criticism, including, most recently, Death's Door: Modern Dying and the Ways We Grieve, as well as eight collections of poetry and a memoir. She is coeditor (with Susan Gubar) of The Norton Anthology of Literature by Women and a recipient of the National Book Critics Circle's Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. A Distinguished Professor of English emerita at the University of California, Davis, she lives in Berkeley, California.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$29.95
ISBN-13: 9780393067651
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 8/2014

Class: Gisella Petrone - Beginning Italian

09/10/2014 10:15 am

Eight Wednesdays: Sept. 10- Oct. 29 • 8:30-10:15am • $250

 

 

 

Gisella Petrone has a Master’s degree from the University of Calabria. She has taught Eng­lish, Italian, Latin, Roman History, and Italian cooking.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Class: Graciela Pera - Spanish 2

09/10/2014 11:00 am
Eight Wednesdays: Sept. 10-Oct. 29 • 9:00-11:00 am • $250
 
 
 
 
Continuation of grammar and language immersion. Graciela Pera was born in Buenos Aires. She is a graduate of the University of Buenos Aires and has been teaching Spanish for over 35 years.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs