Mac Barnett - Telephone

It's time to fly home for dinner! In Telephone, the latest witty picture book from award-winning and bestselling author Mac Barnett, a mother bird gives the bird next to her a message for little Peter. But passing messages on a telephone line isn't as simple as it sounds. Each subsequent bird understands Mama's message according to its own very particular hobbies. Will Peter ever get home for dinner? This uproarious interpretation of a favorite children's game will get everyone giggling and is sure to lead to countless rereads.

Mac Barnett is the New York Times bestselling author of several picture books, including Extra Yarn, which won a Caldecott Honor, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the E. B. White Read-Aloud Award. Mac lives in Berkeley, California.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

Telephone (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781452110233
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books, 9/2014

Cooks with Books: Tanya Holland - Brown Sugar Kitchen

Left Bank in Larkspur • Single $105; Couple $165 (one book)

 

 

Alice Waters describes Tanya Holland’s food as “...robust, soulful recipes that use seasonal and local ingredients. This book is a wonderful reflection of the spirit she has fostered at Brown Sugar Kitchen in West Oakland.” If you haven’t yet been to eat at Brown Sugar Kitchen, executive chef and owner Tanya Holland has created a delicious outpost of soul food and a common gathering spot for locals at her popular restaurant. Brown Sugar Kitchen features recipes for 80 restaurant favorites including her famous chicken and waffles dish as well as sides, salads, and desserts like Caramel Layer Cake with Brown Butter Caramel Frosting. The foreword is by Michael Chabon, Pulitzer Prize winning novelist and a regular at her restaurant.

 

Location: 
Street:
Left Bank Restaurant
Additional:
507 Magnolia Ave
City:
Larkspur
,
Postal Code:
94939
$29.95
ISBN-13: 9781452122342
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books, 9/2014

Erik Tarloff - All Our Yesterdays

In conversation with Andy Ross

A generational saga of romance, lust, friendship, hatred, enduring loyalty, and sudden betrayal, All Our Yesterdays follows a small group of friends and lovers in Berkeley, California from their student days in 1968 to the present. Along the way, they deal with revolutionary changes in politics and sexual mores, personal crises and historical upheavals. In the tradition of Flaubert’s Sentimental Education and Updike’s Rabbit cycle, with a nod to The Big Chill, this coming of age story is an engaging tale of love and friendship.

Erik Tarloff is the author of the national bestseller Face-Time, and a screenwriter with a list of credits that includes episodes of M*A*S*H, All in the Family, the Bob Newhart Show, the Jeffersons, and many others. He has contributed reviews and articles to the New York Times, the Washington Post, Slate and is currently a blogger at Atlantic Online.

Andy Ross is a literary agent and former owner of Cody’s Books in Berkeley. He represents authors of narrative nonfiction, science, history, essays, and travel.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

All Our Yesterdays (Paperback)

$20.00
ISBN-13: 9780991447800
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: CL Publishing, 6/2014

Class: Andrea Alban - Writer's Tribe

09/14/2014 6:00 pm

Single Session: Sunday Sept. 14th • 4:00-6:00pm • $50

 

 

All Sessions: 4 Sundays, Sept. 14, Oct. 12, Nov. 9, and Dec. 14 • 4:00-6:00pm • $180

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Writer's Tribe™ 

A Feedback Forum for Children’s Writers 

$180 for 4 sessions or $50 per class drop-in

Polish your manuscript in a safe space built on respect, clarity and honesty. The focus is on rendering quintessential characters, vivid settings, page-turning plots, and snappy dialog. Andrea Alban guides the group through a powerful revision process. Writers cultivate self-editing mastery. The group is highly interactive. The mission of this university-level workshop is to inspire and deepen craft. Each member receives a Manuscript Feedback Form featuring revision strategies and literary vocabulary.

 

PRAISE FOR ANDREA’S REVISION WORKSHOPS:

 

Your class is terrific -- not just your knowledge and rich understanding of how good writing works, but how you draw people along growing their own skills, and your deep presence and welcoming kindness. 

— Ann Gronvold

 

Your edits are remarkable.  The flow and crispness of the sentences are much improved (even with the little changes). You are magical.  — Bob Healey

 

Great class! I learn something valuable at every meeting. (From all the discussions, not just mine.) I really love the way you put out your thoughts, but also bounce off and expand on our thoughts. You have created more than a class. You have created a community. — Travis Darcy

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

Kimberley Hasselbrink in Conversation with Erin Scott - Vibrant Food & Yummy Supper

Photographer and food blogger Kimberley Hasselbrink looks at ingredients differently, regarding them in terms of what colors inspire her: the shocking fluorescent pink of a chard stem, the deep reds and purples of baby kale leaves, the bright shades of green that emerge in the spring, and even the calm yellows and whites of so many winter vegetables. Thinking about produce in terms of color has reinvigorated Hasselbrink's relationship with food, and in the collection of recipes contained in Vibrant Food ($25.00), she employs color, flavor, and texture to build gorgeous yet unfussy dishes. From Pasta with Nettle Pesto and Blistered Snap Peas in spring to Broiled Figs with Za'atar and Pecans in autumn, this beautiful celebration of the colors, flavors, and moods of each season create a delicious picture of healthy eating.
 
Kimberly Hasselbrink is a food photographer, writer, and creator of the acclaimed site The Year in Food, which was a finalist in Saveur's 2012 and 2013 Best Food Blog Awards. Her work appears regularly in the Etsy blog, and her photography clients include Williams Sonoma, Bon Appetit, Harvard Common Press, Kinfolk magazine, Edible San Francisco, Foodzie, Rewinery, Grist, and CUESA. The Year in Food has been praised by The Kitchn, Food52, Gourmet Live, Anthology magazine, Refinery 29, Spry Living, and Babble. Bon Appetit named Kimberley's Instagram account one of the fifteen Best Accounts for Food Lovers.
 
The first gluten-free cookbook so enticing that it transcends the genre, Yummy Supper ($24.99) is about bounty, flavor, and fun. Based on Erin Scott's award-winning blog of the same name, it has the same clean, gifty visual aesthetic. These are recipes that emphasize naturally gluten-free ingredients and, like her blog, will appeal not only to gluten intolerants and celiacs but also to anyone just looking for a great recipe. 
 
Erin Scott writes and photographs the award-winning blog Yummy Supper. After working at Elle, she contributed to numerous places, from Kinfolk and Glamour to Gourmet.com, TasteSpotting, Foodgawker, and Fine Cooking. Her upcoming cookbook Yummy Supper is full of simple, seasonal, gluten-free recipes.She lives in Berkeley, CA, with her husband and children. 
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$25.00
ISBN-13: 9781607745419
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Ten Speed Press, 6/2014

$24.99
ISBN-13: 9781609615444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Rodale Books, 8/2014

Mark Ulriksen - Dogs Rule Nonchalantly

Dogs Rule Nonchalantly appeals to dog lovers of all ages. The intuitive, colorful paintings communicate a depth of understanding of the quips and quirks of our canine companions that will bring a smile to the faces of children, while the sophistication and nuance of Mark Ulriksen's artistic expertise and his acute observations, will resonate with anyone who has ever had a dog.

Mark Ulriksen is a San Francisco-based artist and illustrator whose instantly recognizable portraits and whimsical take on life have led to projects for a variety of major clients. He specializes in figurative work that blends humor and darkness with psychological insight. After initially working for 13 years as a graphic designer and magazine art director, Mark went through a relatively early mid-life crisis and gave up a world of monthly deadlines for a world of weekly ones, pursuing a new career as a freelance illustrator and artist. Ulriksen is best known for his work for The New Yorker, where he has been a regular contributor since 1993, with more than 30 magazine covers to his credit.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$29.95
ISBN-13: 9781939621108
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Goff Books, 9/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs